And Here Comes The Sun!

sunrise-1370363379ZUR (1).jpg

I told myself I would not get caught by that ray of light peeking over the horizon

I promised myself I would drift off to Slumberland well before that globe of light hits the eastern sky

I commanded myself not to let it catch me

Eyes wide open and mind fully awake

I said to myself, “Your first sighting should be when it’s closer to noon and further from 5:00am”

No matter what I tell myself

I still find myself

staring out my window at that pivotal moment when night becomes day

In that moment of dismay

I think to myself

“You and sleep have had another of your misunderstandings”

And here comes the sun!

Leave a Reply

