Interesting Weekend Thoughts-Love Thy Enemy

Mathew 5-44

As a Christian, I was taught to love my enemies. The eye for an eye philosophy of the Old Testament was traded in for Jesus’s command to turn the other cheek. Something weird crossed my mind this weekend, what about the devil?

Satan is a Christian’s biggest enemy. He has been trying to ruin the lives of God’s children since he deceived Eve in the garden of Eden. The thought that came to me was, “No one ever says we have to love the devil”. No pastor I know has ever admonished me to “Kill the devil with kindness”. When the devil is after me I have no inclination to, “Turn the other cheek”.

When it comes to the devil we are taught the exact opposite. We are told to, “Shake the devil off” and “Stomp on the devil’s head”. We rebuke the devil and when we speak we say, “Tell the truth and shame the devil”. He is not only considered a liar. He is referred to as an actual lie in the popular saying, “The devil is a lie!”.

There is no love lost between the devil and Christians. Of course, my twisted mind wonders why the devil is not amongst that group of enemies we are taught to love. I am absolutely aware that loving the devil will not get me anywhere but it does not change my question. If I do not have to love the devil, who is my enemy, why do I have to love human beings that are enemies of mine?

2 comments on “Interesting Weekend Thoughts-Love Thy Enemy

  1. crossroman says:

    Maybe devil satan and serpent and dragon are the same thing

    Like

Leave a Reply

