The Importance of Sleep

baby-13719870150as.jpg

I lay in the dark wide awake and my head hurts. But it’s not just my head. My neck aches and my shoulder is popping. There is pain radiating down my left arm into my hand. Let’s not even talk about my back! It feels like someone poured hot coals down my spine and my feet feel like I walked a mile barefoot.

I bet you’re wondering what any of this has to do with sleep. Well, it is the cause and the effect of my unease. I was once told I need 9 to 10 hours of sleep a night in order for my muscles to repair themselves from the damage that is done to them during the day. So not getting enough sleep increases my pain.

It is also hard to fall asleep and stay asleep when you can’t find a comfortable way to lay your head and you can feel gravity pulling on your back muscles. Discomfort and pain make sleeping nearly impossible.

So, if you were paying attention you realize that not getting enough sleep adds to my pain and being in pain makes it difficult for me to sleep. Therefore, I am stuck in a vicious, painful and sleep depriving cycle. For me sleep is not just important it is imperative!

Leave a Reply

