Time for a Mental Health Check up

I have previously written about the cognitive deficits I face due to my assault and medication side effects. Well, today I am going to share an epic failure of mine for which I have no one to blame but myself.

In March, I received two pieces of mail from an organization that helps me support myself. One paper said I was recertified while the other said I was being cut off. It didn’t make any sense to me. I did not look into it any further because I kept receiving my services.

On Monday evening, I realized that the money I expected to be in my account wasn’t there. Immediately, my mind went back to the two conflicting letters I received. I carefully read both letters again and I was still confused as to why I didn’t get the assistance I was expecting. It was not until my fiance offered a suggestion that I understood what happened. I had been recertified for one benefit and cut off for the other benefit. Now I have to go around Rochester collecting paperwork and hope I can get my benefits back.

I really feel like an idiot. I cannot trust my brain. It needs an out of order sticker. I also feel like I need to be checked up on. I should have other people read important papers and explain them to me thoroughly. The worse part of it all is that I have created more stress and strain for my fiance because he has to cover the bill that did not get paid. It all has me feeling pretty low right now.

Snapshot_20160504_1

One comment on “Time for a Mental Health Check up

  1. […] May 05, 2016 I wrote a post called “Time for a Mental Health Check up“. The post was about a situation I had gotten myself into because I did not follow the […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

