Life After Death

brillant sunrise-

This is a song that I wrote in 2014 when my cousin’s youngest daughter died. I think it can speak to anyone who has lost a loved one. It goes perfectly with my post from yesterday Dealing with Death.

Verse 1: When I heard the news that day

When they said you were gone away

I didn’t know what to do or say

I didn’t think I’d ever be okay

In a world where you no longer exist

No you, is a concept I can’t get with

Your life was taken away so abruptly

And I’m just supposed to live on happily?

See that’s just not working for me

 

Chorus 1: When you died a part of me died too

When you left I didn’t think I’d ever make it through

When you passed I felt like God just passed me by

Your death ended life for me

 

Verse 2: I sit on high and I look low

Wishing I could tell you the things I know

Wishing I could save you the heartache and sadness you feel when you think of me

Wishing I could explain how it felt when He captured me

And give you a taste of the love that enraptures me

I want you to know that my days are brighter than they’ve ever been

The sadness you carry around, for me, it never even happened

I am so happy and I want you to be happy with me

 

Chorus 2: When I died a part of you died too

When I left you didn’t think you’d ever make it through

When I passed you thought God just passed you by

My death ended life for you

 

Verse 3: As time goes by I don’t miss you any less

And moving on with my life has been a painful process

But I do feel that I have made some progress

It’s not a thing of loving you any less

It’s getting rid of the stress, and the pain, and the tears

It’s knowing I did my best when you were here

It’s loving you while still taking care of me

It’s all about balancing my grief

I love you now as I loved you before

And I have no reason to feel guilty anymore

Even though you are gone from my presence

You will always have my heart

Moving on has allowed me to make a new start

Chorus 3: Chorus 1 and 2 are sung at the same time but it ends in “Death won’t end life for me!”

Leave a Reply

