Flashback Friday- Untitled

heartbrake

 

I wrote this poem in September of 2004 after a very bad break-up. (Wow, that was almost 12 years ago!) I never gave it a title.

You don’t deserve to be loved because your heart is too small

Seven years of my love and you have the gall

to say you are not evil, and I should forgive

And you really are sorry, in what world do you live?

I gave you all my love and every moment of my time

But you took those wooden nickels and now you’ve lost your dime

 

You don’t deserve to be loved because you played the absentee

Seven years of my love and you don’t even know me

No idea what I want

Couldn’t care what I need

You repeatedly took advantage

And sucked me dry with your greed

I did all the hard work

While you played and had your fun

Well this game of chance is over

and you’ve lost it all son

 

You don’t deserve my love because you are not good enough for me

Seven years with this goddess and you have still failed to see

that I am the best thing you ever had

and ever will know

And no matter what you do

who you’re with

Where you go

You will miss

my kiss

my laugh

my inner glow

I thought you understood my love was real

but I guess you were just too slow

 

What do you think I should call this poem? After all these years I think it needs a name. Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

