This is My Body on Drugs Part VI- Topomax

Topomax

Topomax (Topiramate)

Topomax had to be the most fun of all the medications I have taken. When I was first put on Topomax I did not have a reaction to it. It was when my doctor increased the dosage that the party began.

This is what I remember: I was laying in the bed and I called my sister Bylinda. She didn’t answer the phone. I think I called someone else and they didn’t answer either. Then I called Bylinda’s mom (who is mommy to me) and she answered the phone. I just kept repeating “I can’t find her mommy” ( talking about Bylinda) “I don’t know where she is” over and over. I was half whining and half crying. Mommy kept asking me questions but I just kept saying the same thing over and over. Well, of course, she got dressed and rushed over to my house. She kept me on the phone while she drove. At some point, I stopped talking and just started gurgling.

My brother answered the door when mommy got there. I do not remember the conversation I had with her once she got to me. I do remember her standing watch while I took a shower. Once I was clean I felt better and I told mommy she could go home. Thank God she did not listen to me!

I was standing at the stove and I remember turning around to look at mommy and saying “Mommy I don’t feel right”. As soon as the words were out of my mouth I passed out. Mommy caught me underneath my arms and slid me down her leg onto the floor. Then she called 911. I was passed out but I could hear mommy talking. I just couldn’t respond. I came too before the EMT’s got there but mommy would not let me get up.

When the EMT’s got there they helped me get up and I instantly got dizzy. They decided that I was dehydrated. I spent a few hours in the emergency department. There they concluded that I was just slightly dehydrated. They had no idea why I passed out.

I passed out, at least, two more times (maybe three). Each time it happened I was talking to someone, I felt weird and then I was out. The last time I passed out I was at the pain clinic. I had just gotten steroid shots in my neck. I was booking my next appointment and I turned around to say something to my boyfriend and I passed out. He caught me and laid me down on the floor. He was used to it by then.

I know passing out is no joking matter but it is hilarious when it happens around a bunch of people. I could hear a male doctor on the phone with someone. They must have asked him if  I was conscious because he said, “No, she’s out”. I could hear women’s voices all around me. I don’t know what they were saying but I could tell they were freaked out. The last voice I heard was my boyfriend. I could hear him saying “Yea she does this, She’ll come to in a minute”. They put something under my nose that brought me back to the world. I remember taking a really deep breath and then feeling like I was choking.

The doctors got me up off the floor. They checked my vitals and made sure I didn’t have any bumps or bruises. I didn’t because my boyfriend never let me hit the floor. I think we had an idea that the Topomax was making me pass out and my doctor was weaning me off of it. After the incident at the pain clinic, my doctor took me off of Topomax altogether. I haven’t passed out since.

After all of that, it never occurred to me that I should let doctors know that I can’t take Topomax. When they would ask me if I was allergic to any medicine I would say no because I did not get hives, swelling or any of the common things you think of when someone says the word allergy. It wasn’t until a couple of months ago when a nurse asked if I was allergic to any medication that I told her that Topomax makes me pass out. She said, “Yeah we should probably make sure you don’t get any of that”. Of course, I laughed.

 

3 comments on “This is My Body on Drugs Part VI- Topomax

  1. Melissa Ann says:

    My goodness…I didn’t think this was funny until the end. It scared me to death! Thanks for sharing this. I will make sure that I never, ever take Topomax. This series has really been a blessing to me and has given me insight into many different types of medications. I appreciate you sharing your journey.

    Melissa 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ljlhannah says:

      I have a strange sense of humor. Medications effect people in different ways. Topomax might be a wonder drug for you.

      If my best friend takes 600 mg of Ibuprofen she will be sleep for the next 5 hours. I can take 800 mg of Ibuprofen and operate heavy machinery with no problem.

      I am with you though. Why tempt fate?

      Liked by 1 person

    • ljlhannah says:

      I am glad someone got something out of this series. It was definitely a lot to share but I think it was worth it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

