This is My Body on Drugs Part II- Neurontin

Neurontin

Neurontin (Gabapentin)

Once I left Philadelphia (where I was working when I was attacked) I got a regular doctor in Rochester. The first thing my doctor did was take me off of Vicodin and Ibuprofen. He put me on Neurontin. Neurontin is an anticonvulsant medication but it is also used to combat nerve pain. That is what I was using it for.

The problem with Neurontin is it is a weight promoting drug. I found myself gaining 10 lbs every two weeks. My male doctor took no notice of this fact. I had to bring it to his attention and ask him to make sure I wasn’t at risk or Diabetes, heart disease or other complications brought on by excessive weight gain. Thankfully, I was otherwise healthy.

I started at 114 lbs and I got to 160 lbs before I made my doctor take me off of Neurontin. For all the weight I was gaining  my nerve pain was not getting any better. So Neurontin had to go! Join  me for part III on Wednesday!

DSCF1195

 FB_IMG_1459012047146

114 lbs                                                      160 lbs

2 comments on “This is My Body on Drugs Part II- Neurontin

  1. Melissa Ann says:

    Thanks for sharing the photos…you are gorgeous, btw. I appreciate the information about neurontin, a drug I haven’t tried yet myself, but some people I know take it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

