This is My Body on Drugs-Part I

fried-930379_640

Do you remember back in the 90’s when they were ramping up the war on drugs? There was a commercial where they would show a person holding an egg and the narrator would say “This is your brain”. Then they would crack the egg in a frying pan and it would sizzle. The narrator would say “This is your brain on drugs “. It got the point across.

That commercial was geared towards people who used cocaine, heroin, marijuana, meth and other illegal drugs. There are poisons just as deadly and addictive being prescribed by doctors and sold in drug stores every day. These drugs have names like Vicodin, Tramadol, Lyrica, Effexor, Klonopin and Neurontin. These drugs are perfectly legal but they can be just as harmful as heroin and cocaine. Over the course of a week I will share with you the medications I have taken and what they have done to my body and my mind.

Back in July of 2007 when I was attacked at my place of work I was put on Vicodin for pain and Ibuprofen for inflammation. I took two 500 mg Vicodin and 1200 mg of Ibuprofen every day for three years. The Vicodin made me have hallucinatory dreams. They were mostly about bugs. They were very creepy. The Ibuprofen made my hair thin and in 2010 I decided to cut my hair off after four years of growing my Sisterlocks.  This is just the beginning of my medication story. Join me on Monday for part II.

 

me on my bday

November 12, 2009

 

DSCN0072

 

5 comments on “This is My Body on Drugs-Part I

  1. Melissa Ann says:

    This was very interesting. I look forward to this series, as I also suffer from chronic pain. You know, my hair is thinning – I actually have some bald patches – and I’ve been taking OTC ibuprofen (4-7 tabs a day) for the past 20 years. I never associated my hair loss with a common drug for pain relief. Thanks much for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ljlhannah says:

      Hi Melissa Ann,
      I had no clue that Ibuprofen was thinning my hair out until I cut it off. I just happen to stumble upon the information. None of my doctors said anything.

      I don’t know if it will work for you but my sister recommended Jamaican Black Castor Oil. I just rubbed the oil into my bald spots. After about 4 months the hair had grown back. You have to be diligent and do it every day. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Melissa Ann says:

    P.S. In my avatar photo I’m wearing a wig, so ppl can’t see my real hair.

    Like

  3. […] did a series of posts called “ This is My Body on Drugs“. That series was all about what the medication I have been taking has done to my body. I did […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

