The Words Out of Your Mouth

I do not apologize for saying what I mean and meaning what I say

If you don’t like it then walk away

I will not bite my tongue or stifle my spirit

Because my opinion makes you feel some type of way whenever you hear it

Cover your ears, hum a song

I really don’t care, just as long . . .

As you give me the same respect I give you

You can disagree but what you won’t do

is get all loud and call me out of my name

curse me out and my character defame

We are both adults

Well at least I am

You may be old enough to be called sir or madam

But if you’re acting your shoe size

then our conversation is through

My time is precious

and I won’t waste it arguing with you

When you get yourself together maybe we can talk

But right now you’re talking real reckless

so I suggest you take a walk

Get a drink of water

Calm your nerves

Quiet yourself

Stop saying words

Get your mind right

And then we will see

If the conversation your bringing

is worthy of me

words have power

7 comments on “The Words Out of Your Mouth

  1. Melissa Ann says:

    I love this! You write poetry in a way that I can truly relate to. I wanted to pick a favorite verse out, but reading back through it, I can’t find just one. The whole thing is made up of parts, but they connect, and I don’t know how to separate them. I feel like this poem could be meant for anyone who brings negativity to our lives. Whether in person or via a comment.

    I did find one verse that I feel speaks to the personal value of every woman:

    “Get your mind right

    And then we will see

    If the conversation your bringing

    is worthy of me”

    Simply awesome. Thanks for sharing and have a great week!

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ljlhannah says:

      Thank you Melissa. I hate arguing and it annoys me to no end when people get loud and yell. It totally turns me off and it doesn’t matter what they are saying anymore. I don’t care! That is where this came from.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Melissa Ann says:

        I know the feeling. My daughter used to yell & argue with me to no end, and pretty soon it just sounded like “blah, blah, blah”. Even if she was sitting right next to me, I would just tune her out.

        Thanks for telling me the reason behind this cool poem! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • ljlhannah says:

        That’s funny. Isn’t it usually the kids who ignore their parent’s yelling? BTW my favorite line is “Stop saying words”. I think of it as a nice way of saying “shut the hell up”.

        Like

  2. CMSFK says:

    Oh yes, I know this all too well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

