The Lives of Women Series-Part 1

This post is a response to International Women’s Day and it is the beginning of a series I have been inspired to write called “The Lives of Women”.  I have plans for the series to go through the month of March. We will see if it goes any longer than that. This first installment is about my mother who happens to be a woman.

 

me n mommy

My mother was a woman

She was strong and she was proud

She was feisty and sometimes loud

She was small but her personality was big

You wouldn’t believe some of the things she did

 

She could be sweeter than sweet

And she could be meaner than mean

She was a complex human being

 

My mother was a woman

She demanded respect

She had a sense of humor

But she sure didn’t take no mess

 

My mother was a woman

She brought two women into this world

She raised us and taught us to be

Two very classy girls

me n kena

My mother was a woman

And so am I

Her legacy lives on in me

And that I accept with pride

 

My mother was a woman

And she embraced her womanhood

At times she used her powers for evil

But mostly she used them for good

 

My mother was a woman

And it’s a bit sad to say

But no one really knew

What she went through

From day to day

 

My mother was a woman

And she lived powerfully

The woman that she was

Is the woman

I hope to be

 

Leave a Reply

