Delayed Gratification

IMG_0176_7_8

We live in a world where everyone wants everything right now! We don’t even want it right now. We want it yesterday! Society feeds into this right now culture by making pretty much anything you want available in a matter of seconds. What happened to, “good things come to those who wait”? Does anyone even believe that anymore?

I had my mind set on getting married at 18 years-old, right out of high school. I was going to graduate from college and pop out three beautiful babies by 25. Fortunately for me, life did not turn out that way. I find myself 34 years-old, engaged with no children. To some people that might seem sad but not to me.

I was in love at 18 and all I saw was flowers and sunshine. I was not being realistic at all. I am thankful that I did not marry that guy and I did not have any children. Yes it is 16 years later and I am much smarter than I ever was at 18. I am much better equipped to be a wife and a mother. I am in the healthiest romantic relationship I have ever been in and I love who I am. I don’t have a baby daddy (I don’t judge anyone who does but I have seen the drama that can go on with that situation and I am glad I do not have to deal with that) and I don’t have to worry about going to court for custody disputes. Delaying my desires has been a blessing. Some may think I am doing things late in life. I think I am right on time. Here’s to delayed gratification!

once a day circle

This entry was posted in Prose and tagged .

Leave a Reply

