Things That Drive Me Crazy-Not In My House

image_book_red_heart_beautiful_love_hd-wallpaper-1782251

I do not currently have any biological children but I have helped raise my god children and my nieces and nephews. I have worked with many children over the past two decades. One thing I cannot stand is a disrespectful child. Children who disrespect their elders drive me crazy. Adults who let children disrespect them drive me crazy too!

I believe everyone has the right to feel however they feel. If a child feels life is unfair or they don’t like the decisions the adults in their life are making I have no problem with that. Talking back, huffing and puffing, stomping up stairs, yelling, cursing and slamming doors are inappropriate behaviors as a reaction to what the child is feeling. This week I am expressing my aggravation with a poem to my future children.

You can scream

You can yell

You can stomp and slam doors

Just not in my house

 

You want to swear

Steal, cheat

And lie?

You might do it somewhere

But not in my house!

 

You can curse the ground I walk on

And hate my guts

But you will not say it out loud

Not in my house!

 

You want to run things?

You want everything to go your way?

You want the world to fall at your feet?

That may happen . . .

But probably not in my house

 

I run this

I make the rules

I decide what gets given to whom

 

I call the shots

I am the boss

I rule your world

I don’t know what you thought

But let me ease your mind

 

You don’t have to worry about how the bills get paid

Where your clothes come from

Or how dinner gets made

 

No one is asking you to chip in on the gas bill

Fix the hole in the roof

Pay for your after school activities

Or your winter boots

 

You will never have to worry about where you lay your head

Will the lights be on?

Or if you’re going to be fed

 

These are things you will never have to do

Because I am your mother and I got you!

What I need you to understand

Is that this does come with a price

 

Respect is the price you will pay

And it is a must

There is no but, and, or I was just . . .

 

I have no time for explanations or complaints

There are many fools in the world

But I assure you I ain’t

 

So when you think it’s cute to stomp upstairs, slam doors and shout

Remember ain’t nobody got time for that

Not in my house!

 

crazy-600x400

2 comments on “Things That Drive Me Crazy-Not In My House

  1. APS says:

    Thank you for this one! I am dealing with a 16 year old in my home. I might just print this out and have her read it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • ljlhannah says:

      Thanks for the compliment! I cannot stand disrespectful children. I like the idea of printing it out and having your 16 year old read it. If you do you have to let me know how it goes.

      Lynette

      Like

Leave a Reply

