Almost doesn’t count/The devil knows my name

I know I am a little late but this month I decided to post two poems and the readers get to vote for which one they like best.

Almost doesn’t count
I almost gave up
I almost gave in
I almost lost it all
but almost doesn’t count

I almost checked out
I almost lost my mind
I almost extinguished my own light
I almost gave up on God
but almost doesn’t count

I almost got knocked out
I almost walked away
I almost sold my soul
but almost doesn’t count

I almost let Jesus pass me by
but almost doesn’t count
I almost gave up my victory
but almost doesn’t count
I almost forgot how to love
but almost doesn’t count
I almost forgot that I am loved
but almost doesn’t count

I almost forgot where I stand
I almost forgot to hold His hand
I almost forgot His promise to me
I almost forgot He set me free!
I almost forgot whose I am

Thankfully almost doesn’t count!

Versus 5

The devil knows my name

The devil knows my name
he speaks of me frequently
Plotting and scheming
Trying his best to get at me

The devil knows my name
From the moment I was born

he has been attacking me
Always trying to thwart my progress
By distracting me

The devil knows my name
he knows I am a soul he cannot steal
he knows I am forever protected
Walking in God’s Holy Will

The devil knows my name
The thought of me makes him cringe
Because I am God’s property
And I will never belong to him

he knows he cannot trick or treat me
Or blind me with shiny things
Because earthly treasures are temporary
And I have a mind set on eternal things

Yes the devil knows my name
Because I am a child of the King
He is constantly trying to get at me
Because I don’t belong to him

The devil knows my name
But it doesn’t bother me
When I plead the blood of Jesus
He and his imps have to flee

The devil can know my name
Because on Christ the solid rock I stand
And there is nothing he can ever do
To remove me from my father’s hand

 

 

2 comments on “Almost doesn’t count/The devil knows my name

  1. I like the first poem, almost doesn’t count! An awesome poem of hope!

    Like

Leave a Reply

