My Audience

On July 30, 2007 at 3:57 pm my life was changed. I was working in the newly formed Behavioral Health Unit Of Special People in Northeast (SPIN) in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. I worked in a house where there were three men who suffered from developmental disabilities as well as mental health issues. One of them had become very aggressive over a span of about three months.

Three minutes before I was supposed to clock out for the day I was grabbed and punched in the head and the back. My limbs were tangled in his limbs so my coworkers had to yank us apart. It all happened so quickly I really did not know what happened at first. Those few minutes have left me with two herniated discs in my neck, a separated shoulder that did not heal properly, muscle spams, PTSD, depression and anxiety.

7 1/2 years later I am still dealing with spasms, nerve pain  and serious side effects from the medication I have to take. My injuries have made it difficult for me to finish my graduate program and hold a job for more than a month or so. Now I am at a place in my life where I am reinventing myself.

I have become a freelance writer. I have created my own company named Writer Blocks. I choreograph praise dances for my church. I am on the hospitality team and I help with the clothing ministry. I am also getting married next August. The most important thing I have learned is that although my life did not turn out the way I thought it would I can still be a happy and successful person. My injury did not ruin my life it just rearranged it.  I want other people in similar situations to know that they can overcome the pain and live a fulfilling life.

5 comments on “My Audience

  1. Wandering Soul says:

    i was so shocked , as i was reading your post. But the end of the post is so beautiful. It is sympathetic at all, but instead inspiring. Kudos to your spirit.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are a strong woman and I admire that in you. Overcoming adversity in many ways is never easy, but it seems you are doing it. Congratulations on getting married! You have a beautiful future ahead of you. God Bless!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] have previously written about the cognitive deficits I face due to my assault and medication side effects. Well, today I am going to share an epic failure of mine for which I […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

